This permit is valid for four years and shall entitle the permit holder to carry any handgun(s) which the permit holder legally owns or posses. The permit holder shall have the permit in holders immediate possession at all times when carrying a handgun and shall display the permit on demand of a law enforcement officer.
Even though a person is authorized to possess or carry a firearm pursuant to TCA §39-17-1315 or §39-17-1351 and has a permit, there are some restrictions where firearms may be carried.
For further information, you may view the following state statutes from the General Assembly website at http://www.legislature.state.tn.us under "Bills," then "Tennessee Code."
39-17-1302: Prohibited weapon
39-17-1305 (as amended by Public Chapter 345; 2001): Possession of firearms where alcoholic beverages are served or sold
39-17-1306: Carrying weapons
39-17-1307: Unlawful carrying or possession of a weapon.
39-17-1309: Carrying weapons on school property.
39-17-1311: Carrying weapons on public parks, playgrounds, civic centers, and other recreational building and grounds.
39-17-1315: (b) (1): Written directive and permit to carry handguns
39-17-1320: Providing handguns to juveniles
39-17-1321: Possession of a handgun while under the influence
39-17-1351 – 1358: Handgun carry permits
39-17-1359: Prohibition at certain meetings
39-17-1360: Rules and regulations
Title 62 Chapter 35: Private protective services
Title 70 Chapter 4: Miscellaneous regulations
70-4-103: Fox hunting – Training of hunting dogs – Penalty
70-4-112: Hunting and chasing coons regulated – Training season – Violations, penalties
70-4-117: Possession of weapons in areas inhabited by big game - Penalty
Applicants are required to be a resident
of the State of Tennessee;
Applicant shall submit proof of the
successful completion of a department approved Handgun Safety Course with
in the past six (6) months. Call (615) 251-8590 to find out locations and
phone numbers of schools near you.
Prior to the expiration date on a permit, a permit holder can submit a Renewal Handgun Application at any Driver License Center. Renewals can be submitted up to six months prior to the expiration date.
Note: Any expired permit holders will be required to meet all of the original requirements under T.C.A. Section 39-17-1351.
You will find an application to download and/or print HERE.
By law if you move, you may either simply notify the Department of Safety to change your address on our records, or you may apply for a duplicate handgun carry permit which will have the new address on it. With either option, you are required to give us your new address within 60 days.
To receive a duplicate handgun carry permit with current address:
Call (615) 251-8590, and the handgun permit office will mail you a duplicate application.
Complete the application, and retain the "yellow" copy for your records. You may legally carry your old permit, and the receipt provided from the application (yellow copy). Mail the application and the $5.00 fee payable by check or money order to the following address:
Tennessee Department of Safety
You may also get your duplicate application at any driver license station, and then mail us your application and fees as described above. The driver license office cannot produce the duplicate handgun carry permit.
To change your record with us without having a new handgun carry permit issued:
You have the option to change your record, and not have the address shown on your permit. For information about changing your record, click here.
Under a reciprocity agreement, a Tennessee permit holder would be able to carry his or her handgun into any other reciprocity state.
Tennessee Handgun Carry Permittees should contact the reciprocity state for information on carrying such handgun prior to entering the reciprocity state.
Tennessee currently has reciprocity agreements with ten states: Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, South Carolina, Texas and Virginia.
Applications are received in the Handgun Carry Permit Office, and reviewed
Proper documentation is forwarded to three (3) different agencies: (TBI, FBI, County Sheriff).
Upon a name search approval from TBI, the permit can be issued within ninety (90) days from date of application.
Permit will be valid for four (4) years from date of issue.
The permit shall entitle the permittee to carry any handgun - which the permittee legally owns or possesses.
The permittee shall have the permit in the holder’s immediate possession at all times when carrying a handgun and shall display the permit on demand of a law enforcement officer.
Applications for handgun permits are
processed in the following counties at the designated Driver License
Stations. Handguns are not permitted in Driver License Stations.
Anderson County (423) 457-3958
TRY THIS PAGE TOO!